My 19th birthday is tomorrow. My final year of being a teenager is finally almost here. Needless to say, it has been one helluva ride.

When I woke up this morning, I started my day thinking about the birthday parties I use to throw and how excited I would get from just hearing the word “birthday”. The best part was always having my Meemaw fly down to spend my birthday with me. She never missed a birthday. She would stay with my family and I for at least a week and during that week or so, we would have movie marathons, play cards all night, she would watch all the stupid cartoons with me, take me for ice cream and a terrible children’s movie, etc, and it would be the best time. I looked forward to my birthday because that meant my grandma was coming to see me.

Now, as I’m older, I no longer have my Meemaw to pick up from the airport and spend my birthday with. Although it has been five years without her, it is still hard for me to get excited for birthdays, but I am always so grateful to celebrate with my family and friends.  

While I am forever missing my grandma, I am the luckiest gal in the world to spend my birthday tomorrow with my beautiful parents, brother and future sister-in-law. I cannot wait for what tomorrow and the next year brings.